- England
- May 2020
Rent tribunal decisions: May 2020
16 rent decisions made by the First-tier Tribunal in May 2020: 0 under the Renters’ Rights Act rules, 9 under the earlier rules and 7 fair rents.
Why it matters
A monthly snapshot of what the tribunal decided. Decisions are published weeks after they are made, so the latest months keep filling in; counts here are by decision date.
Condition comes up in 3 market-rent decisions in these decisions. The tribunal values the home as it is.
Median market rent the tribunal set in these decisions, all years, £ a month.
Regulated-tenancy (Rent Act 1977) decisions in these decisions, kept separate from Section 13 figures.
New rules Notices from 1 May 2026
No decisions under the new rules in this group yet. The first were published from June 2026; challenges to notices served now will follow.
Earlier rules Notices before 1 May 2026
- Decisions
- 9
- Set below the proposal
- 0% of 1 with both figures
- Set above the proposal
- 0%
- Median rent set
- £677
- Cut 0%
- Confirmed 100%
Abide.Rent keeps the evidence that decides cases like these on file for every tenancy, before the notice goes out.
Start your free trialLatest
- Registered
Kirkwood Avenue, Birmingham B23
£245fair rent, a month27 May 2020 · Birmingham · Fair rent - Set
Midhurst GU29
Rent not stated in the published decision21 May 2020 · Chichester · Earlier rules - Set
Seacole Gardens, Southampton SO16
Rent not stated in the published decision21 May 2020 · Southampton · Earlier rules - Registered
2-bed semi-detached house
Cawte Road, Southampton SO15£737fair rent, a month21 May 2020 · Southampton · Fair rent - Registered
Semi-detached house
Main Road, Rochester ME3£605fair rent, a month21 May 2020 · Medway · Fair rent - Set
2-bed unfurnished terraced house
Tennal Drive, Birmingham B32£462a month18 May 2020 · Birmingham · Earlier rules
Every decision
The latest 16 of 16.
| Decided | Where | Paid before | Proposed | Set | Outcome | Rules |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 27 May 2020 | Kirkwood Avenue, Birmingham B23Birmingham | £212 | — | £245 | Registered | Fair rent |
| 21 May 2020 | Midhurst GU29Chichester | £650 | £1,000 | — | Set | Earlier rules |
| 21 May 2020 | Seacole Gardens, Southampton SO16Southampton | £860 | £880 | — | Set | Earlier rules |
| 21 May 2020 | Cawte Road, Southampton SO152-bed semi-detached house · Southampton | — | — | £737 | Registered | Fair rent |
| 21 May 2020 | Main Road, Rochester ME3Semi-detached house · Medway | — | — | £605 | Registered | Fair rent |
| 18 May 2020 | Tennal Drive, Birmingham B322-bed unfurnished terraced house · Birmingham | — | — | £462 | Set | Earlier rules |
| 13 May 2020 | Guildford Road, Dorking RH5Mole Valley | — | — | — | Registered | Fair rent |
| 13 May 2020 | Molesham Way, West Molesey KT8Elmbridge | £870 | £892 | £892 | Confirmed | Earlier rules |
| 13 May 2020 | Basingstoke RG21Flat · Basingstoke and Deane | £425 | £480 | — | Set | Earlier rules |
| 13 May 2020 | Wimborne Road, Bournemouth BH9Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole | £640 | £875 | — | Set | Earlier rules |
| 13 May 2020 | Hunters Road, Birmingham B192-bed semi-detached house · Birmingham | — | — | £430 | Set | Earlier rules |
| 12 May 2020 | Pomona Road, Shanklin PO37Isle of Wight | £608 | £619 | — | Set | Earlier rules |
| 11 May 2020 | Greenways Walk, Crawley RH11Crawley | — | — | £327 | Registered | Fair rent |
| 11 May 2020 | Greenways Walk, Crawley RH11Crawley | — | — | £327 | Registered | Fair rent |
| 11 May 2020 | Greenways Walk, Crawley RH11Crawley | — | — | £327 | Registered | Fair rent |
| 6 May 2020 | Brent HA35-bed unfurnished semi-detached house · Brent | — | — | £1,790 | Set | Earlier rules |
Where
By month
Other topics
Stay ahead of the tribunal, every month
- Every proposed rent checked against local tribunal outcomes before the notice goes out
- Form 4A prepared, served and proven, with the 52-week clock tracked per tenancy
- Comparables, condition and service record bundled for the tribunal as you go
Source: every First-tier Tribunal (Property Chamber) rent decision published on GOV.UK, read by Abide.Rent and refreshed daily (last 23 Oct 2026). Street, town and postcode district only; open any decision for the tribunal’s published reasons on GOV.UK. Rents are shown a month; weekly rents are converted (× 52 ÷ 12). Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Decisions are evidence of risk, not a price list. Not legal advice.