2-bed unfurnished flat, Leigh-on-Sea SS9: rent tribunal decision
Landlord proposed £1,300; the First-tier Tribunal set £1,040 (−20%) on 21 Oct 2024 under the earlier rules. Case CAM/00KF/MNR/2024/0130.
- Decided
- 21 Oct 2024
- Applied
- —
- Wait
- —
- Rules
- Earlier rules
- Notice start date
- 18 Jul 2024
- Decided on
- The papers
- Council
- Southend-on-Sea
- Tribunal region
- Eastern
- Type
- Flat
- Bedrooms
- 2
- Furnishing
- Unfurnished
- Parking
- Yes
As the tribunal described the home in its decision.
What the decision shows
The landlord proposed £1,300 a month. The tribunal set £1,040, £260 a month (−20%) below the proposal: about £3,120 over a year.
Damp or mould came up in the decision. Condition the landlord is responsible for is usually deducted from the market rent.
Evidence and issues
- ✓ Landlord sent comparables
- ✓ Tenant sent comparables
- ✓ Achieved rents cited
- ✓ Asking rents cited
- ✓ Portal listings cited
- ✓ Disrepair raised
- ✓ Damp or mould raised
- Hearing held
- Home inspected
- Landlord used an agent
- Hardship delay asked for
- Landlord ordered to repay the £47 fee
- Notice validity raised
Read from the published text. Highlighted items are mentioned in the decision; read it on GOV.UK for the detail.
Would your next increase survive this tribunal? Abide.Rent checks a proposed rent against local outcomes before the notice goes out.
Start your free trialHow Southend-on-Sea compares
Share of 13 earlier-rules decisions in Southend-on-Sea set below the proposal.
Median market rent the tribunal set in Southend-on-Sea, a month.
Market-rent decisions in Southend-on-Sea. Filter them.
Other decisions in Southend-on-Sea
- Confirmed
5-bed semi-detached house
Crowstone Avenue, Westcliff On Sea SS0£2,700a month9 Sep 2026 · Southend-on-Sea · Earlier rules - Cut 15%
3-bed unfurnished semi-detached house
Fairfax Drive, Westcliff-on-Sea SS01 Jul 2026 · Southend-on-Sea · Earlier rules£1,700£1,445a month - Set
Crowstone Avenue, Westcliff-on-Sea SS0
Rent not stated in the published decision10 Jun 2026 · Southend-on-Sea · Earlier rules - Cut 22.2%
Southend-on-Sea SS0
17 Apr 2026 · Southend-on-Sea · Earlier rules£900£700a month - Set
2-bed flat
Baxter Avenue, Southend SS2Rent not stated in the published decision13 Apr 2026 · Southend-on-Sea · Earlier rules - Confirmed
1-bed flat
Eastwood Boulevard, Westcliff-on-Sea SS0£850a month11 Apr 2026 · Southend-on-Sea · Earlier rules
Tenants: is my rent increase notice valid? Landlords and agents: check a proposed rent · more decisions that cut the rent.
Price the next increase on evidence, not hope
- Every proposed rent checked against local tribunal outcomes before the notice goes out
- Form 4A prepared, served and proven, with the 52-week clock tracked per tenancy
- Comparables, condition and service record bundled for the tribunal as you go
Source: every First-tier Tribunal (Property Chamber) rent decision published on GOV.UK, read by Abide.Rent and refreshed daily (last 23 Oct 2026). Street, town and postcode district only; open any decision for the tribunal’s published reasons on GOV.UK. Rents are shown a month; weekly rents are converted (× 52 ÷ 12). Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Decisions are evidence of risk, not a price list. Not legal advice.