Unfurnished studio flat, St Albans AL1: rent tribunal decision
Landlord proposed £1,400; the First-tier Tribunal set £1,100 (−21.4%) on 15 Dec 2025 under the earlier rules. Case CAM/26UG/MNR/2025/0766.
- Decided
- 15 Dec 2025
- Applied
- —
- Wait
- —
- Rules
- Earlier rules
- Notice start date
- 17 Oct 2025
- Decided on
- A hearing
- Council
- St Albans
- Tribunal region
- Eastern
The home
1 studio decided in St Albans →- Type
- Studio
- Bedrooms
- Studio
- Furnishing
- Unfurnished
- Parking
- Yes
As the tribunal described the home in its decision.
What the decision shows
The landlord proposed £1,400 a month (+40% on the £1,000 already paid). The tribunal set £1,100, £300 a month (−21.4%) below the proposal: about £3,600 over a year.
Evidence and issues
- Landlord sent comparables
- Tenant sent comparables
- Achieved rents cited
- Asking rents cited
- Portal listings cited
- Disrepair raised
- Damp or mould raised
- ✓ Hearing held
- ✓ Home inspected
- Landlord used an agent
- Hardship delay asked for
- Landlord ordered to repay the £47 fee
- Notice validity raised
Read from the published text. Highlighted items are mentioned in the decision; read it on GOV.UK for the detail.
Would your next increase survive this tribunal? Abide.Rent checks a proposed rent against local outcomes before the notice goes out.
Start your free trialHow St Albans compares
Share of 1 earlier-rules decisions in St Albans set below the proposal.
Median market rent the tribunal set in St Albans, a month.
Market-rent decisions in St Albans. Filter them.
Other decisions in AL1
- Struck out
Riverside Road, St Albans AL1
Notice invalid: no rent set27 May 2025 · St Albans · Earlier rules - Set
2-bed flat
Camp Road, St. Albans AL1Rent not stated in the published decision27 May 2025 · St Albans · Earlier rules - Set
1-bed flat
St Albans AL1£62a month18 Jun 2024 · St Albans · Earlier rules - Set
1-bed flat
Bricket Road, St Albans AL1Rent not stated in the published decision30 May 2022 · St Albans · Earlier rules
Tenants: is my rent increase notice valid? Landlords and agents: check a proposed rent · more decisions that cut the rent.
Price the next increase on evidence, not hope
- Every proposed rent checked against local tribunal outcomes before the notice goes out
- Form 4A prepared, served and proven, with the 52-week clock tracked per tenancy
- Comparables, condition and service record bundled for the tribunal as you go
Source: every First-tier Tribunal (Property Chamber) rent decision published on GOV.UK, read by Abide.Rent and refreshed daily (last 23 Oct 2026). Street, town and postcode district only; open any decision for the tribunal’s published reasons on GOV.UK. Rents are shown a month; weekly rents are converted (× 52 ÷ 12). Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Decisions are evidence of risk, not a price list. Not legal advice.