Blackhorse Lane, Hitchin SG4: rent tribunal decision
Landlord proposed £2,150; the First-tier Tribunal set £1,250 (−41.9%) on 14 Jul 2025 under the earlier rules. Case CAM/26UF/MNR/2025/0670.
- Decided
- 14 Jul 2025
- Applied
- —
- Wait
- —
- Rules
- Earlier rules
- Notice start date
- 27 Apr 2025
- Decided on
- The papers
- Council
- North Hertfordshire
- Tribunal region
- Eastern
What the decision shows
The landlord proposed £2,150 a month (+7.5% on the £2,000 already paid). The tribunal set £1,250, £900 a month (−41.9%) below the proposal: about £10,800 over a year.
The rent set is below the £2,000 the tenant was already paying. The tribunal values the home as it is, whatever the current rent.
Evidence and issues
- Landlord sent comparables
- Tenant sent comparables
- Achieved rents cited
- Asking rents cited
- Portal listings cited
- Disrepair raised
- Damp or mould raised
- Hearing held
- Home inspected
- Landlord used an agent
- Hardship delay asked for
- Landlord ordered to repay the £47 fee
- ✓ Notice validity raised
Read from the published text. Highlighted items are mentioned in the decision; read it on GOV.UK for the detail.
Would your next increase survive this tribunal? Abide.Rent checks a proposed rent against local outcomes before the notice goes out.
Start your free trialHow North Hertfordshire compares
Share of 2 earlier-rules decisions in North Hertfordshire set below the proposal.
Median market rent the tribunal set in North Hertfordshire, a month.
Market-rent decisions in North Hertfordshire. Filter them.
Other decisions in North Hertfordshire
- Cut 2.3%
3-bed detached house
North Hertfordshire SG48 Dec 2025 · North Hertfordshire · Earlier rules£2,150£2,100a month - Set
1-bed home
Sassoon Drive, Hertfordsire SG8Rent not stated in the published decision29 Jun 2023 · North Hertfordshire · Earlier rules - Set
Cromwell Road, Letchworth SG6
Rent not stated in the published decision16 Sep 2019 · North Hertfordshire · Earlier rules
Tenants: is my rent increase notice valid? Landlords and agents: check a proposed rent · more decisions that cut the rent.
Price the next increase on evidence, not hope
- Every proposed rent checked against local tribunal outcomes before the notice goes out
- Form 4A prepared, served and proven, with the 52-week clock tracked per tenancy
- Comparables, condition and service record bundled for the tribunal as you go
Source: every First-tier Tribunal (Property Chamber) rent decision published on GOV.UK, read by Abide.Rent and refreshed daily (last 23 Oct 2026). Street, town and postcode district only; open any decision for the tribunal’s published reasons on GOV.UK. Rents are shown a month; weekly rents are converted (× 52 ÷ 12). Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Decisions are evidence of risk, not a price list. Not legal advice.