3-bed maisonette, Reading RG30: rent tribunal decision
Landlord proposed £1,200; the First-tier Tribunal set £1,000 (−16.7%) on 16 Mar 2026 under the earlier rules. Case CAM/00MC/MNR/2025/0810.
- Decided
- 16 Mar 2026
- Applied
- 28 Nov 2025
- Wait
- 108 days
- Rules
- Earlier rules
- Notice start date
- 1 Dec 2025
- Decided on
- The papers
- Council
- Reading
- Tribunal region
- Eastern
- Type
- Maisonette
- Bedrooms
- 3
- Central heating
- No
- Double glazing
- Yes
- Parking
- Yes
As the tribunal described the home in its decision.
What the decision shows
The landlord proposed £1,200 a month (+26.3% on the £950 already paid). The tribunal set £1,000, £200 a month (−16.7%) below the proposal: about £2,400 over a year.
Damp or mould came up in the decision. Condition the landlord is responsible for is usually deducted from the market rent.
Evidence and issues
- Landlord sent comparables
- Tenant sent comparables
- Achieved rents cited
- Asking rents cited
- Portal listings cited
- Disrepair raised
- ✓ Damp or mould raised
- Hearing held
- Home inspected
- ✓ Landlord used an agent
- Hardship delay asked for
- Landlord ordered to repay the £47 fee
- Notice validity raised
Read from the published text. Highlighted items are mentioned in the decision; read it on GOV.UK for the detail.
Would your next increase survive this tribunal? Abide.Rent checks a proposed rent against local outcomes before the notice goes out.
Start your free trialHow Reading compares
Share of 1 new-rules decisions in Reading set below the proposal.
Median market rent the tribunal set in Reading, a month.
Market-rent decisions in Reading. Filter them.
Other decisions in RG30
- Set
Southcote Road, Reading RG30
Rent not stated in the published decision30 Jun 2026 · Reading · Earlier rules - Set
3-bed maisonette
Reading RG30£950a month3 Jan 2026 · Reading · Earlier rules - Set
3-bed end-terrace house
Reading RG30Rent not stated in the published decision25 Mar 2024 · Reading · Earlier rules
Tenants: is my rent increase notice valid? Landlords and agents: check a proposed rent · more decisions that cut the rent.
Price the next increase on evidence, not hope
- Every proposed rent checked against local tribunal outcomes before the notice goes out
- Form 4A prepared, served and proven, with the 52-week clock tracked per tenancy
- Comparables, condition and service record bundled for the tribunal as you go
Source: every First-tier Tribunal (Property Chamber) rent decision published on GOV.UK, read by Abide.Rent and refreshed daily (last 23 Oct 2026). Street, town and postcode district only; open any decision for the tribunal’s published reasons on GOV.UK. Rents are shown a month; weekly rents are converted (× 52 ÷ 12). Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Decisions are evidence of risk, not a price list. Not legal advice.